James Hetfield’s son releases his first album with his band Bastardane


Bastardane, the hard rock trio with drummer Castor Hetfield – son of Metallica frontman James Hetfield – have released their debut album.

Title Is it rage?, the LP boasts heavy riffing and palpable energy, with the band firing on all cylinders through 10 high-octane tracks. The album opener “Above All” can be heard below.

“We are Bastardane and we are not a bunch of dumb white men looking to fuck,” the band proclaimed in an interview with The Hum. “There’s a time in every generation where music is the guide through tough times. We just want to make emotionally uplifting music that’s not trying to please a certain audience. Our career is about making people happy and responding to the emotional needs of those who cannot tolerate words alone.

Bastardane formed in 2019 and is based in Savannah, Georgia. Although aspiring musicians initially played typical teeth-biting shows at college parties and small clubs, they also enjoyed high-profile events. Last December, the band performed as part of Metallica’s 40th anniversary celebration in San Francisco. In May, they will once again share the bill with Metallica, this time at the BottleRock Festival in Napa.

Castor isn’t the only Metallica offspring to embrace a career in music. Lars Ulrich’s sons, Myles and Layne, formed the duo Taipei Houston, while Robert Trujillo’s son, Tye, plays bass in the band Otto.

Bastard, ‘Is that rage?’ Track list
1. “Above all”
2. “Praise Without Happiness”
3. “Gas fires”
4. “Hum”
5. “Revolt”
6. “Let the wasted die”
7. “Imposter”
8. “The Rider”
9. “To infinity”
10. “Weakhearted Soul”

77 Rock Stars Whose Kids Are Also Musicians


About Author

Comments are closed.