Malaysian indie band Bonafides release their self-titled debut EP


Malaysian indie rockers Bonafides have released their self-titled debut EP, an eclectic six-track affair of jagged, edgy rock.

The EP “Bonafides” was released on digital streaming platforms on June 10 via guitarist Hujan AG Coco’s Kamar Seni imprint. It was also produced by Bonafides guitarist Nasrul Aqil in his home studio and features additional instrumentation by Akeem of jazz fusion band Banyak Bunyik Republic. The EP includes their two previously released singles, “Purnama” and “Jiwa Lara”.

The EP also includes a redesign of “Jiwa Lara” in collaboration with Sarawakian singer-songwriter Sasha Ningkan. Listen to the project below.

First formed in 2018, the Ampang-based quintet consisting of Nasrul, singer Adeen, guitarist Farid, bassist Mal and drummer Aidil cite The Who, Mando Diao and Noh Salleh side project Da Vagabonds among their influences. After a successful string of live shows in 2019, Bonafides released their debut single “Jiwa Lara” in May 2020 amid COVID-19 lockdowns in Malaysia.

The group would then release their second single, “Purnama”, almost a year later, in March 2021.

Bonafides has previously shared the stage with artists like Spooky Wet Dreams, LUST, Milo Dinosaur and BandLab NME Awards 2022 nominees for Best New Artist from Asia, The Filters. The band are set to return to the stage on July 2 alongside Masdo, Ramayan and Couple at the annual Indianasional IV concert at Bsync Productions in Petaling Jaya, Selangor.


About Author

Comments are closed.