Simple Minds New Song 2022: Group releases music ahead of 18th studio album release


Are you ready for Simple Minds? The group, which should return with its 18th studio album “Direction Of The Heart”, has just released a new single titled “Vision Thing”.

According to NME, the euphoric song was composed by guitarist Charlie Burchill while Jim Kerr wrote the lyrics.

The song is said to be a tribute to the singer’s father, who died in 2019.

“Vision Thing” will appear on their long-awaited album with eight new songs. All tracks on the disc were recorded at Chameleon Studios in Hamburg, Germany.

The full tracklist is as follows:

  • thing of sight
  • First you jump
  • Human Trafficking (with Russell Mael of Sparks)
  • Who killed the truth?
  • Solstice Kiss
  • act of love
  • Natural
  • Planet Zero
  • The Walls Came Down (originally written and recorded by The Call)

“Human Traffic” is a collaboration between the band and Sparks frontman Russell Mael. The album will also include a cover of “The Walls Came Down” by The Call, originally released in 1983.

The upcoming album is their first album in four years, with their latest release being 2018’s “Walk Between Worlds”.

READ ALSO: Idina Menzel Wants To Sing Another “Let It Go,” Hoping To Voice Elsa In A Possible “Frozen 3”

“Direction Of The Heart” will be available to stream starting October 21. Fans can pre-order physical copies of the album from their official website.

Explaining the sound of their forthcoming album, Jim Kerr said: “How do you make an ‘Electro-rock’ record that feels good, in the worst of times? Direction Of The Heart is the result of that challenge. Who would have thought we would have you so much fun creating it?”

The group is also on tour to celebrate its 40th anniversary. They are currently traveling across European cities and are said to return to the UK on June 18 to play at Blenheim Palace.

Some of the cities in their European leg include Madrid, Groningen, Tilloloy, Luxembourg, Lausanne, Zagreb, Belfort, Argeles Sur Mer, Pescara, Girona, Valencia, Essex, Belfast and many more.

In August, the tour will conclude with two shows at Princess Street Gardens in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Tickets are still available on the official Ticketmaster UK website.

As well as their tour, they will headline Radio 2’s ‘Live In Leeds’ concert on September 17. Simple Minds is expected to perform in front of 30,000 people.

In other updates, the group released a new version of “Act Of Love” earlier this year. Kerr and Burchill wrote the song in 1978.

READ MORE: Tom Parker’s death continues to confound his daughter: Toddler waits for singer to come home

© 2015 All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.


About Author

Comments are closed.